Why Minnesota?

After that many friends had readed my last post about my dramatic experience with the cold climate of Minnesota, more than one have asked me: Why are you there? Why go to in a place so far from paradise Ecuador? ………
Not only my friends from Ecuador have mentioned how illogical it was to moved to the cold North but friends from Minnesota Whom usually after listen and watch pictures from my country and the natural beauty also have asked me: What are you doing here? Why change Ecuador for Minnesota?

Imagen

Hoch Orchard- April 2014

I answered them, I have come to Hoch Orchard and Garden Farm, this place stole my heart since the first time I saw it in August 2011.

Imagen

Hoch Orchard and Garden Farm.

The warmth of the people, the opportunity to always interact with people from different countries, different ideas, cultures, foods. The most fascinating thing about Hoch Orchard is that they are not only an organic farm but They are in the transition to have the Biodynamic certification.

Imagen

Old Apple tree!!!

How can I miss home!!! if here I’m able to be involved in gardening, planting berries, bud grafting in the nurseries, fruits crops (apple, blueberry, strawberry, raspberry,etc.)

Imagen

beans growing up!!!

When I arrived I didn’t see anything green, just the white snow on the ground… For somebody who comes from a country where can see green everywhere all the time is hard to believe that everything will popping up again.

Imagen

First leaves on apple trees

more than 50 varieties of apple, berries, grapes, vegetables, hogs, sheeps, chickens, a llama, a cute puppy an the cool people make of this farm the perfect place for me to stay.

Imagen

View of the farm

I read somewhere that “God make the countryside and humans the city”.

I could write more details about Why I am here, but I don’t think I have enough time and space. Life is good 🙂

About silvana1989

Una persona con amor por la vida y su esencia, siempre dispuesta a aprender. Disfruto de la buena lectura, música, agricultura y conocer gente y éste blog es para mostrar las experiencias que todo esto junto le da a mi vida
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized, USA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why Minnesota?

  1. Gallivanta says:

    And what a beautiful place to be. Glad you are busy and well.

  2. Mary says:

    So glad that you have settled into a place that is offering you so much good. Wonderful post!

  3. It sounds like you have adjusted beautifully to your northern home, Silvana. You seem very happy and proud of what you are learning. How long will you be there?

    • silvana1989 says:

      Hello Lynne, good to hear of you, I’ll be here until November.. I know you and Ron are in India now, I don’t have any plan for traveling around USA but I would like to do it.

  4. great post, and yes, it is so beautiful there.. i can picture you tending the young plants and the old trees as well and smiling the entire time.

    my friends are on their way to quito, and i bailed out to catch the bus in mindo to return to jama. it will leave in about fifteen minutes and will reach sto domingo around 3.. ugh.. place your bets.. what time will i reach jama?

    you could probably travel from there to mississippi faster than it will take me to reach jama today!

    siempre,
    z

  5. ja! i reached jama at sunset!
    i also feasted on cameron/con verduras – 26 lovely shrimp – yes i counted them, and they were cooked with love by your lovely sweet mother!
    it’s been raining for about half an hour (drizzling before that)
    it’s lights out soon for me.. it was a long day!
    z

Leave a Reply

