From the Middle of the world to 5216 km to the North

I was born and grew up in a place where the sun rises every day at 6:00 am and sets at 6:00 pm, where the only seasonal changes which people feel worried about  is if it rains a lot or a little. To explain:

Summer: Sunny, (sometimes sunny) – No rain – 25 º C-37 º C

df
Winter:   Sunny, (sometimes sunny) –    Rain    – 25 º C-37 º C

fg

as you can see the temperature is not something we worry about that is why the only thermometer you can find in our houses is the thermometer to know if someone has a fever or not.

When I was a kid the only idea I had is that the snow is white, cold and used to make snowmen, but of course we grow and learn other things (theoretically) like: As closer from the poles you’re as cold is.

At 22 years old I saw SNOW for the first time, it was late autumn in southern Minnesota-USA while I finished my training program in a farm. I still remember the night before when they told me it was going to snow looking out the window to see if snow was falling, all I could see was a tree without leaves intensely moving because was wind.

Amazing! I remember that was the first word I said when I saw it … Magic! That’s how I can describe the moment I set my feet on the white field, the blue sky and the white ground (is exactly like this,  that you dream the sky will be”at least mine”).

But there was still missed something to complete the magic, I could not watch the snow fall from the sky and end my doubts if they’re bits of ice that can hurt you or they’re bits of ice that fall gently that you do not even feel it.

Well! It took two years and four months longer for this to happen, and as coincidence in the same place at the Southern Minnesota – USA in my second level training program at the same farm.

This time I could not see the magic, there I was at 5:10 am walking as fast as possible to get into the car to get warm. My legs tingled, I did not feel my toes , my hands were freezing, I felt the cold coming through my body to my bones (I do not even know if that’s possible). The worst part came later when I saw Jackie (my lovely boss and owner of the farm) removing ice from the car windows, then I got in shock.

Trying to remain calm so not to scare Jackie, blowing my hands; we left the farm and in the road I started with the unexpected questions that ranged from: Snow comes from some particular point? or do depends on the amount of snow that falls for be cold?

It’s been a week since I came to this place, I’m still learning and improving my relationship with the cold, the warmth of people around of course it helps (I heard someone say that everything is in the mind) I do prefer to get enough warm clothes . Probably for people who lives in these areas is just the normal thing, but for who comes from an eternal summer!.

I’ll wait for the news that will bring me spring.

 

 

About silvana1989

Una persona con amor por la vida y su esencia, siempre dispuesta a aprender. Disfruto de la buena lectura, música, agricultura y conocer gente y éste blog es para mostrar las experiencias que todo esto junto le da a mi vida
This entry was posted in USA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to From the Middle of the world to 5216 km to the North

  1. OH AMIGA! i’m painting, and we’ve just had another easy shower (lluvia) that lasted about an hour.    the 9-foot painting of punta ballena is going well.

    this is a FANTASTIC post, and you are going to teach others to remember what it’s like to watch the snow with childlike wonder!  and the ice!

    brrrrrrrr!  i never tolerated the cold well, and my jaws would first start involuntarily shivering and then more of my skeleton..   i

    it’s been a long long winter for everyone up there, and hopefully you’ll bring a little of the tropics to them so that those spring flowers will burst through the cold and bring you the wonders of springtime!

    i loved every single word of this post!  brilliant!

    z

    ________________________________

    • silvana1989 says:

      Lisa! I have talked about you so much around here, you are famous in this place!!! I should give you the credit for all the great inspirations you have brought to my life… I just tried be honest enough about cold weather. I can’t wait until see the painting.

  2. Gallivanta says:

    Shivers; how I remember that intense cold. Lovely to be reading your posts again.

  3. Lesli says:

    Silvana, thank you for making me smile and laugh out loud. Being from Canada I do know the cold and snow and ice. Ask Jackie what a “block heater” is!! You will have never seen one here in Ecuador. Keep writing posts and enjoy your time in the north!!

    • silvana1989 says:

      😉 I’m glad you did laughed. Jackie explained me What is a block heater, God I can’t even figure out something like that…I will definitly keep writing. I wish the best for the tourism project in El Matal. Thank for stopped by here

  4. meche says:

    es muy grato volver a leer los ingeniosos articulos ……….solo faltaba estar un poco lejos para que acabara el “bloqueo de escritora” ………..aunque es dificiel tratar de traducir
    solo espero que conplacas al publico español

  5. Bob R says:

    Fear not, it’ll be warming up very soon. 🙂 Hope all is well!

  6. Pingback: El Nino Phenomenon | Zeebra Designs & Destinations

  7. LuAnn says:

    Glad to see you back again. I grew up in the midwestern part of the country where snow was always a part of winter. Although I now prefer to live in more temperate climates, I loved your story about experiencing snow for the first time, with that wide-eyed wonder that is found so often in innocent children. Lovely post Silvana. Stay warm!

    Have a Happy Easter. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Why Minnesota? | monoaullador.

Leave a Reply

