Calle 13 – Latinoamerica

I could not find a better opportunity to talk about what I think, what made ​​me think not only this video for “Calle 13, Latin America” but what made me think a conversation I heard between two women two days ago. When I was sitting at a bus station, of course they never suspected that I was able to understand a little their perfect English. Among their repeated complaints about the dirty streets, the lack of services in some parts of the city I mean everything that means the bad called “third world” I could not avoid feel uncomfortable with all what I was listening but what I most seemed outrageous was when a couple arrived to the bus station she was a Latin woman and he an American man with their beautiful children and these two ladies said: “I think she married him to improve her race”

For a moment I thought tell them that I had understood their conversation but then I realized that these two women are only the result of a system that is determined to show the world that Latins are inferior, politicians of our country have governed receiving orders from outside. When we are going to stop to diference people for their race, country,

When will we stop labeling people by race, nationality, religion? when this world will break frontiers? and will dare to respect and love, I never liked to blame only the system for all the world ills because I believe that each of us can make a better world…

This video makes me feel more than ever proud and happy to be Latino, but not better or less than others.

PEACE!!!

About silvana1989

Una persona con amor por la vida y su esencia, siempre dispuesta a aprender. Disfruto de la buena lectura, música, agricultura y conocer gente y éste blog es para mostrar las experiencias que todo esto junto le da a mi vida
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Calle 13 – Latinoamerica

  1. fotograffer says:

    Everyone should be proud of their heritage and intolerance of others and their culture is born of ignorance. I am embarrassed you have to overhear their conversation.

    • silvana1989 says:

      you don´t have to be embarrassed about it, I hear terrible things from people in my own country too, the purpose of my post it was to express my dissatisfaction. I never stop to feel sad when I see these attitudes of people, and especially be aware how damage can cause our absurd stereotypes.

  2. At times I have witnessed the ‘Ugly American” behavior and have been ashamed and embarrassed as well… Several times I have returned to a restaurant ‘the following day’ and apologized for the lack of respect from another table of tourists. I often wonder why others can be so judgmental and shallow and at times deliberately rude – why are they here?

    Thank you, amiga, for sharing this. It saddens me that our species can be so advanced yet have made so little progress spiritually.

    As you know, I love everyone in Jama and am proud that all of you have embraced me into your culture! Z

    • silvana1989 says:

      Oh Lisa, we’ve talked a lot about this, I had no intention of being allusive in my post, I have been fortunate to meet so many good people from United States, but this is a reality that it can not be hide I hear people in my country intolerant and I always tell them how bad it is, but today is a special day because I am already 24 years old and I just got a email from the government telling me that my test was very good and I can go to the interview, I have one more step and the scholarship will be mine, I am very excited and I wanted to share the good news with you, we can make a difference despite the bad things that surround us! 🙂

      • One can make a difference – we have discussed this before, and you are certainly making a difference every day of your beautiful life! I am staying with friends in Quito and I told them about your post. One said that she would have had a hard time staying quiet- mute.. she would have spoken up and said, ‘I understood all that you said..’

        I said, “But if one responds in anger, then you’ve stooped to their level.. one has to respond with wisdom – something that is often difficult when you’re surprised and have no time to think about an answer…

        Writing about it is a great way to help all of us remember that we can always be a little more thoughtful and a lot less judgmental!

        Of course I knew that you weren’t referring to anyone who embraces your culture.. it’s about the insensitive ones.. every country has people who represent them well, and there are also people who bring shame.

        I am so proud that you shared this with us, and I am VERY VERY PROUD that you aced your tests!!!! Congratulations! We’ll be calling you Doctora in the future! Good luck with the interview.. Will that be soon?

        Siempre,
        Lisa/Z

      • silvana1989 says:

        for a moment I thought to face these two ladies but then I realized it would not be worth, what I would tell them would not change what they thought, the interview will be in a month, but I have already completed 80% of the acceptance the interview will be the other 20% that means I’m close, now I have to plan and make decisions about my next destination! the good vibes of my favorite month JUNE is continuing, 🙂 and you wont have to call me Doctora, just Silvana as always

      • Jim Mohn says:

        Silvana,

        How unfortunate that we Americans can be so disrepsectful of others great and loving heritage. I have traveled throughout the USA extensively and please believe me, I have heard this intollerance amoung our own people. It is sad. However, I hope and pray that you will not judge all of us by the few spoiled brats that travel internationally and can’t open their eyes and ears to see the beauty around them. My wife and I are planning on retiring to Ecuador in the next year and can’t wait to become involved in your culture, if allowed. I sincerely hope that we get to meet you and as many great Equadorian people as well as hear of and take part in your heritage and wonderful country. God bless you for your tollerance, may we be as gracious.

        Papa Jim

  3. I too am sorry you had to overhear these insensitive women and their lack of understanding and respect. Even in our country, the same is true.Always one group denigrating another group. I’m pleased to hear you are doing so well on your exams and that you are preparing for your interview. An exciting time for you.

    • silvana1989 says:

      you are very kind Lynne, and again I repeat there is nothing to be sorry, sometimes listening to the intolerance of people help to keep perspective. I’m participating in a competition to get a scholarship from my country government, now I have to decide which country I will go to study to get my master’s degree, I have a lot to think and I have many decisions to make. I really appreciate the care you always give to my post, I still do not know you but I like you already. 🙂

      • You are most kind, Silvana. Best wishes to you as you make these important decisions. My husband, fotografer Ron and I both enjoy your posts. Thanks to Lisa for her introducing you to WordPress. We love Ecuador.

  4. Gallivanta says:

    The scholarship and study plans are very exciting; fingers crossed as we like to say. I like your wisdom that we can be proud and happy about who we are but not feel lesser or greater than anyone else. Streets can be dirty and houses can be poor but poverty of thought is far worse.

  5. LuAnn says:

    Embrace your heritage Silvana and be proud! When we lived in Mexico for a year we found many “ugly Americans” that we were embarrassed by. Unfortunately the media plays a part in adding to this way of thinking. Our eyes were opened even further when we lived south of our native border. Everyone should spend time immersing themselves in another culture. We loved our time in Mexico and felt blessed to be able to share our time with the locals we lived among.

    • silvana1989 says:

      What pleasant to read these beautiful words, you are right!! media influences people’s minds often negatively, one of the experiences that influenced me a lot was to have lived in the United States and immersing in their culture, that helped me to be more tolerant and respectful but mostly taught me to love more my culture and my country. I´m sure Mexico have been great influence in you and also understand How many cultural shock you must have had 🙂

      • LuAnn says:

        We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Mexico and found the local community to be warm, loving, family-oriented people. 🙂

  6. Lynda says:

    You made me cry. (It’s OK, it’s good for me. It makes me grow inside.)

    Sylvana, I know what it is like to hear someone talk in the negative and to understand what they are saying. I think you should have spoken. It would have shocked their sensibilities!

    I would have said something like: “Do you really believe that? Do you really think that LOVE had no part in their marriage?” Then I would have smiled and walked on.

    But then, I am the belligerent one, and you have the bigger and more pure heart.

    • silvana1989 says:

      What sensitive you are Lynda, I never thought to cause impact by posting this, I also had intentions to speak to these two women but then I would have shown that I was intolerant too, I’ve lived in another country, in fact in USA I had my frustrations, criticism, impacts but I always tried to be prudent, I used throw away everything writting, today when I read my journal I laugh even I’m ashamed to have been so intolerant, but I grew up and I always acknowledge that living in the United States helped a lot but mostly taught me to respect and love more to my culture and country.
      Thanks for stopping by here and leave you wonderful comment

  7. I’m so sorry you had this experience! It makes me embarrassed to be an American, when I hear about this kind of behavior.

    I posted something on my blog today about a positive experience I had on a bus here in Cuenca. I witnessed a behavior that I would rarely see in the US. It made me realize part of what I love about Ecuador.

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • silvana1989 says:

      Thanks for your comment Kathy, I had not responded before …”busy day here in the Ecuadorian coast” I think hear comments about bad road conditions, or poor services not surprise me, I know how many things we have to develop, likewise there are cities that have better services than other Cuenca is one of those cities, but what really made ​​me sad it was when I heard the racist remark!!!! if the people who spoke had been Ecuatorianas I had reacted differently, maybe I would have approached tell them what I thought, but with these two women I think I made the right decision. I read you post is very nice 🙂
      Hugs

  8. Burt says:

    I expect that couple would be just as racist back in America. Unfortunately, some Americans feel that only those with European ancestry belong in America, and that everyone else is inferior. Even more unfortunate though, that is not just an American trait. I have seen racism around the world, and it is by no means limited to ‘Whites’.

    I rather doubt these two women will actually move to a country they disdain so much (at least I hope not!), so at least you can be thankful they will likely just return to poison their home country, and not spoil Ecuador.

    • silvana1989 says:

      three years ago there was a national census in Ecuador, one of the essential questions of self-identification was: How do you identify as your culture and customs? there were four options as answers: mestizo, white, Indigenous, montubio, cholo, Afro-Ecuadorian I participated as a pollster, I never forget a girl of 10 years afro Ecuadorian which I replied “I’m white” was there that I realized that we are still dragging the ravages of slavery where one race dominated others. Development is not sufficient if we do not educate our children love self and above all the sense of identity without falling into the arrogance. I thank you for your comment, the good are more!!! 🙂

  9. Attila Gyuris says:

    Estimada Silvana:

    Por recomendación de otra persona , acaba de leer tu comentario de las dos mujeres norteamericanas ( y dudo en llamarlas “damas”, porque no lo lo son). Es lamentable que las hayas oído, porque también de alguna manera te influencia a ti hacia ellas.

    Yo soy norteamericano –ecuatoriano casado felizmente con una mujer ecuatoriana , por casi 20 años y tenemos un hijo teenager y vivimos en Ecuador. Creo que te puedo dar un perspectiva desde un punto de vista bicultural. Como bien sabes, en todas partes del mundo hay una cultura que se cree dominante y otra que lucha por no ser dominada, especialmente culturalmente hablando. Gracias a mi profesión, conozco muy bien a muchos países en Europa, Asia, así como en Latinoamérica. Y esta lucha entre culturas existe en casi todos los paises. He observado este tipo de comportamiento de forma personal. Por ejemplo Los japoneses se burlan de los chinos, los alemanes se burlan de los suizos, los persas se burlan de los árabes, los mexicanos se burlan de los guatemaltecos, y los argentinos y los norteamericanos se burlan de todo el mundo 🙂 … En parte es ignorancia e intolerancia, pero por otra parte es un sentido de frustración con lo diferente y una superioridad falsa que tienen. No sienten la necesidad de adapterse a los demas, sino que esperan que los demas se adapten a ellos.

    Es despreciable lo que comentaban esas dos mujeres, mas por la forma que de fondo, porque la como la mentira es hiriente, también la verdad lo puede ser, dependiendo de la forma como se le manifieste. La crítica constructiva edifica pero la crítica destructiva derrumba. Pero te felicito la madurez que demuestras al no tomarlo en forma personal. Esos comentarios que escuchaste son simplemente el reflejo del estado anímico de esas dos personas en particular, que se sienten como peces fuera del agua, que estaban frustradas por el shock cultural y se estaban desahogando haciendo comentarios sarcásticamente hirientes sobre otra cultura. Pero acuerdate quen por cada extranjero frustrado aqui hay un igual número muy contento.

    Lo cierto es que en todas partes del mundo es un deporte personal de los extranjeros hacer crticas sarcásticas entre ellos mismos, a manera de chiste, pero que serían hirientes a los oídos de la gente local. Todos lo hemos hecho en algún momento mientras viajamos. Lo importante es no tomarlo en serio.

    Cheers, and wish you great success in your studies,.

    A.T.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    • silvana1989 says:

      Creo que lo has dicho todo en tu comentario, luego de todos comentarios recibidos pensé si fue una buena idea mencionar las nacionalidades de estas dos mujeres, (ahora pienso que hubiese sido mejor no hacerlo) porque es como tu dices, el sentido de superioridad está en todas partes incluso entre nosotros mismo como Ecuatorianos, yo mismo tuve muchas criticas contra la cultura norteamericana cuando viví en los Estados Unidos pero aprendí a ser tolerante y sobre todo prudente, pero una cosa son las criticas y otras los comentarios racistas, yo sé que es dificil cambiar la mente de las personas y que nosotros no debemos tomarlo en serio, pero si creí conveniente compartir lo que me sucedió no con el afán de hacer lucir mal a un grupo de personas sino para hacernos una critica a nosotros mismos de cuan feo luce cuando hablamos mal de otros y peor aún manifestar publicamente un comentario racista y cuanto puede esto afectar a otros. Yo tengo muchos amigos norteamericanos que adoro que son grandiosos y sé que los buenos somos más.

      Gracias por tus buenos deseos y por aportar con tu grandiosa reflexión.
      Saludos,
      Silvana

  10. Louis G Gouveia says:

    I am so proud of you. You posting your ugly experience hopefully will open the minds and hearts of the many ugly Americans and you never know it could hopefully change their attitudes. I am so sorry you had to experience this ugly event in your young growing years. You have done the right thing and I hope more Ecuadorians would do likewise and speak out about their experiences.

    I am a Canadian and in my 14 months here I too have met such ugly Americans and have felt ashamed. I love every bit of Ecuador and can rightly say you are way way better than the western world in every aspect.

    I wish you the very best in your endeavors.

    Louie

    • silvana1989 says:

      racism is everywhere, these bad attitudes not only come from the Americans, unfortunately that event was with two of them, as someone mentioned in a previous review there are people from one country who feel superior to people from other countries, is a phenomenon that manifests everywhere, Ecuador is no exception I too have felt ashamed of mine. but I decided to share this post with the intention of making an awareness about what is wrong, I really appreciate your beautiful comments about my country, we have much to develop, but I hope we do the right way. Thanks for leaving your comment. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Walking Ambassadors | Zeebra Designs & Destinations

  12. hughcurtler says:

    I am visiting at Lisa’s request and feel ashamed for those two women. They do not represent my country and believe me Americans have very little to feel superior about these days! You have a beautiful country as the Zeebra keeps demonstrating!

    • silvana1989 says:

      Thanks for follow the request of Lisa, I do not need Americans show me they are good, I know and I have many friends who are great Lisa is one of them, of course there are people intolerant and closed-minded and believe me that happens everywhere, Thanks for leave your nice comment. 🙂

  13. Michael Gossman says:

    Silvana,

    It is a sad thing when one must apologize about the thoughts and behaviors of people of your own culture, but I must do so. We have all different kinds of people and many of them have never had their minds opened up to the world around them. Perhaps one day they will understand better how the world and people can come together and work together and make a better world.

    Congratulations on your testing and your interview. I wish you all the luck and hope I can meet you one day.

    Michael Gossman

    • silvana1989 says:

      The intention of this post was not to get an apology from American´s people, now I think it would have been better not to mention the nationalities of these two women because people like this are everywhere. I appreciate your good wishes and of course I would love to meet you some day. 🙂

  14. Lesli says:

    Well done Silvana and as Lisa said please remember for every insensitive person, there are many many more who are kind. There is no excuse for how these women behaved … people can be terribly insensitive and judgemental about different countries and somehow believe that their country is superior. We have been in Ecuador for a couple of years and have watched the amazing developments along the coast especially. I think Ecudorians have many things to be very proud of. The new developments of course but the cultural heritage of our new home “Jama” is amazing. Everything from the parades, pole painting, your public acknowledgement at Marcha Blanca to your new decor at Excusivo show people your pride. I think kudos to you for focusing on the positive and being the kind person you so obviously are!

    • silvana1989 says:

      I know that The friendlies are more! now I think I should omit nationalities of these two women, my idea was to mention that there are people racist, but no address to the people of one country … I think I wanted focus to show that racism lives among us, is an ill that still causes damage, ready I did it, I omitted this part 🙂 I never imagined that actions like those you mentioned about Jama would have shown you our way to development, muchismo thank you all those beautiful words and I would like to see you soon 🙂

  15. Mary says:

    I’m sorry that you experienced this. The inferior were the two women sitting on the bus – for the crass words and lack of understanding shows how “un-advanced” they are as human beings. Shame on them ~

    • silvana1989 says:

      Well I guess I was very sensitive, but when I hear somebody being racist depress me, because I thoguht this it is already a overcomed barrier but apparently NOt, thanks to leave your comment!!! the good are more 🙂

  16. Penny L Howe says:

    All humans who ridicule and make less of another human being are pointing a finger at themselves, but because they can’t see beyond their own self interests – they don’t realize who the finger is really pointing at. All of us, everywhere on the planet are beautiful people, with hearts and souls and should be respected for all that we are and can be. It seems intolerance and indifference are interfering, too much, in the thinking processes (certainly from this country U.S.A)where there should be love and honor! It is an honor to be at your blog site and comment to you, much love, Penny xx

    • silvana1989 says:

      It was not my intention at any time point with my finger the intolerance of certain people from United States, that´s why I omitted from my post the nationalities of these two women but now is a little late, intolerance and lack of respect is everywhere, I will not say that in my country there are no people intolerant it would be a lie, you make it very clear reasoning and thank you so much for your beautiful words, the good are more 🙂

      • Penny L Howe says:

        You misunderstood me Silvana. I was not referring to you. Or your very kind and gentle reference regarding the women you overheard. but rather I was referring to them. There are many people in the U.S. today who do have a very bad ‘finger pointing’ habit, both here and in other countries. Your post was very gracious indeed and I’m sorry I did not make myself clear. I am a follower of Lisa’s and when I read her post I wanted to come and lend my support and good wishes to you, also! 🙂

      • silvana1989 says:

        You were more than clear my dear Penny, nothing better than being self-critical. But I just tried to be careful with my not so good English. Lisa definitely has done something great to make this request to her followers, I was not expecting and I really appreciate that you decided to lend your support and thank you very much for your good wishes. 🙂

      • Penny L Howe says:

        Lisa is a lovely human being. If I have the opportunity to travel near your home, it would be my pleasure to meet you Slivana. Your English is quite good, by the way! 🙂

      • silvana1989 says:

        it would be a pleasure to meet you too… I hope you have the opportunity sooner than late 🙂 Lisa is just “The Best”

      • Penny L Howe says:

        Thank you and we both agree about Lisa! 🙂

  17. rangewriter says:

    Why do ugly americans bother to travel? They would be more comfortable if they snugged into their big fat sofas and sat in front of the wide screen TV with soap operas guiding their shallow senses.

    It is a beautiful song and video.

  18. Mary says:

    Naw, the two ladies are just typical of arrogant and ignorant people everywhere who think they’re more important than the rest of humanity. Namely, those who are different in any way from the speakers. Please dont take it personally.
    Y’all have a great day.
    Mary from Texas.

    • silvana1989 says:

      I would never take it personally, I’d be doing the same that I criticize, do not you think? Of course, these two ladies do not represent the wonderful American friends that I have, so I decided to omit the nationalities of these two women but I reasoned a little late, the truth is that there are people like that everywhere. Thanks for your comment Mary. 🙂

  19. I’m sorry, too, that you had to hear this. It’s unfortunate that there are “ugly” people like this from every country, not just America. There are good and bad people from every country, good and bad things about every country. Just because people or things are different, doesn’t make them bad.

    Blessings,

    janet

    • silvana1989 says:

      You know Janet is racism what sad me, listen criticism about services lack from my country is something that does not affect me because it needs to be Ecuadorian to understand what our history has caused in our country, but racism is something that just baffles me and is very unfortunate to see that in the bad-called “development” still continue existing and most unfortunate to know that exists everywhere, but “the good are more” 🙂 thanks to stopping by and leave your comment!,

      Blessing for you too

  20. Gemma says:

    (Coming over from Playmart)
    I’m sorry that the world still responds this way. I’m sorry that you had to hear that. There are good people and there are those who judge without thinking about the pain they cause to others. Our response needs to be just as you have done. Express your concern, hope that it changes at least one person’s opinion, teach others to be kind, and hope that it spreads like wildfire. ☮
    Apparently congratulations are in order. Best of luck. 🙂

    • silvana1989 says:

      Well thanks to Lisa this post is spreads as a wildfire, your great comment is proof of that, a year ago I was a volunteer at a school and while i was in my class there was a student who referred to another by their skin color, when I reported for bad behavior and his dad came to me he told me that what his son had said did not desert the report, I asked him: what would you think if I call your son “idiot, fool, stupid” he responded: I think you would be disrespecting him…- well that’s what I’m teaching to your son sir, he needs to learns respect and call people by their name and not with adjectives. If you can not change older people´s mind I think we should worry that new generations do not be same. Thanks for your good wishes. 🙂

  21. I was sad to read about your experience with these ignorant, rude people disparaging your city & making racist remarks. I find it shocking. I thought this little poem would cheer you up..
    If I can stop one heart from breaking
    I shall not live in vain
    if I can ease one life the aching, or cool one pain.
    Or help one fainting Robin up to his nest again.
    I shall not live in vain..
    Emily Dickinson

    I love your posts! thank you. Deanna

    • silvana1989 says:

      Oh wow! what a beautiful poem, you just ease my aching 🙂 Deanna what a sensitive soul you are. “The good are more” I appreciate so much your beautiful words 🙂

  22. babso2you says:

    S – If we could all live in peace with one another, treat each other as we wish to be treated, speak kindly, understand that we are only a small part of the whole, and that we are all one, then this earth would be a much better place to live! Hugs to you! -B

  23. Amiga! What a powerful impact your post has had on others! Even though you might feel a bit awkward that your post focused on negative words that were spoken, you have touched others – all of us. We will remember to always think before speaking. Long ago I learned a short quote that helps me remember to say kind words:
    “Is it kind? Is it necessary? If not, it is best left unsaid.”

    Sometimes we get caught up in conversation and forget, but we are all learning as we go through life, and we slip at times.. but we grow wiser each day.

    Your post has helped us to remember to be kind. Always. Siempre.

    Thanks!

    Z

  24. Connie says:

    Thanks for sharing the video and song. I am visiting Ecuador in July this year for two weeks. I will remember this this post and try to do my best to make up for the hurtful words.

    • silvana1989 says:

      You are welcome to Ecuador anytime….. you already made up for the hurtful words to leave this comment, thanks and Ecuador will be waiting for you!! 🙂

  25. Silvana – I wish that I had been sitting near you and overheard the same conversation. I would have confronted the ignorance and set the women straight. I am sorry for the deep seated racism and tendency many have to judge others against their own limited experiences. I apologize for their insensitivity and want you to know that my wife and I are proud to call ourselves, “Ecuatorianos!” God Bless you – John and Mary

    • silvana1989 says:

      Jhon I have no doubt that you would have confronted, I always read and enjoy your posts and they speak for themselves, I know that you and your wife are Ecuadorians you evidence it by so many activities you share with us. Not everyone gives their time to teach English 🙂 sing a sweet song for Mother’s Day, share a photo of a weed and say that even that is beautiful about Ecuador …. You did not need to tell me that you are Ecuadorians I already knew it 🙂 I would love to meet you someday. Blessing for you and Mary too.

      • hey i am home on the river, returned last night. i am reading/catching up and followed the link back here to see what others said. john and mary, thanks so much, and silvana summarized what makes you and your blog so special!
        you two are going to HAVE to find your way to jama so that silvana and i can introduce you to what makes jama special!

  26. BobR says:

    The only thing you can do is remain positive. You’ll run across many people like this – the world has no shortage of them. But as you know, they don’t make up the majority.

    Racist attitudes aside – People like that allow themselves to be convinced that everything about them and the U.S. in general is superior. They’re too ignorant to see that those same ‘third world’ conditions they complain about can also be found in many areas of the U.S. Increasingly so.

    You rock, by the way. 🙂 I think often of the few days I spent in Jama.

    • silvana1989 says:

      Thanks for your comment Bob, I´ll remain positive 🙂 I´m enjoying so much every post about your trip, I finally got my scholarship so I´m leaving next year (I don´t know where) you are welcome to Jama anytime…

  27. adinparadise says:

    What a marvelous video, Silvana. I have been to South America, and loved every moment there. 🙂

  28. Madhu says:

    LOVE that video! 🙂
    Have witnessed racist comments too Silvana, by insensitive foreigners, but sadly even by locals against their own countrymen of ‘lesser’ standing in their eyes! Your closing words ‘not better or less than others’ should be the ideal everyone lives by in a perfect world, but our world alas is far from perfect.

    • silvana1989 says:

      we can not have a perfect world but we can have our a little bit better!!!! I know racism is not over but I feel everyday is getting less!!!! There is HOPE 🙂 thanks for stopping by and leave your comment

Leave a Reply

