USA’s memories!!!!

I finally decided write in english and I think the best I can do its talk about my first english´s experience. Certainly people learn day by day, We don´t think same that before, its not same to tell a child history being an adult that being a child that´s why I decided to share an email I sent to my friend Meli when I was in states of course this email was written in spanish.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

From: TINA CEDEÑO <tina_sca@hotmail.com>
To: Meli Aray <cisne_blanco87@hotmail.com>
Sent: Saturday, April 9, 2011 6:22 PM
Subject: Hi

Hello dear friend,
How are you? has been nice the world with you? How are you facing the reality after the college?  I decided to face my reality here in Usa after a month in my new place apparently not everything it’s rose color. I´m living with a old guy I think He is 65 years old , He just speaks English, and as you will understand … I do not understand anything!! …………….. I´ve had to do up cartoons to make me understand … besides that .. in my pocket and not keep coins anymore, but my dictionary …… I have not met anyone yet, I’ve been working hard on the farm … by the way I really like the work … but silence stuns me …. How ironic!! stunning silence! … see, How philosophic I have become, I´m spending so much time alone is making me have these effects,,,,, ha ha ….. Great!! ….. …….the house its very nice, In my bedroom, on the top has a window that lets me see the stars in the night it´s cool! looks like in the scary movies, my bedroom is in the attic I feel like a hidden witch ha ha crazy don´t you think? but I like. has happened two incredible things, the first I saw SNOW!!! Meli that was amazingly awesome, When I saw it I thought “this already was worth” and the second: I saw the atlantic ocean… can you believe it? Cold, cold very cold I walked wearing a jacket I never thought I would walk wearing a jacket never never… I grew up in my eternal summer…….Oh I miss the hot weather even if I sweat walking, please say hi Manta beach…..

cold very cold atlantic ocean, New Hampshire

cold very cold atlantic ocean, New Hampshire

One day I decided to go running in a pretty far to a nature reserve in the area.  A beautiful place certainly. Well, I get there and jesus.. it was cold, and I was in shorts. Now the cold started to get me, and I was freezing, and then I saw that the route was dedicated to bicycles [not a common thing in Ecuador]. I saw a pretty old lady running as well, At the beginning, I was running next to her everything was fine, but later Oh shit. First off, I have never run so much in my life, 4 miles!!!!!! . Secondly, I haven’t run since school, jesus. I saw lights, stars ! But I had to keep going, I couldn’t make my country look bad especially with this old lady. I got to the end five minutes after the lady. But I got there and she asked me “are you ok?” I told her ironicly, “oh yeah I´m perfect.” ha ha can you believe it buddy,  a old lady kicked my ass.

I’ve been working a lot around here ….. I like the work though sometimes it is very hard, I went out to walk the streets of this small town, but people do not walk a lot around here, they just walk by car ha ha…. I think that’s why I have not made friends yet over here . … that made me feel a little lonely …. that’s something wrong! … But I’ll have faith .. some tell me that in summer people go out!!

oops!!! Sorry!! I had to take the picture using timer.

oops!!! Sorry!! I had to take the picture using timer.

have’s only been 30 days since I came to this place … For me … have been much more.. is not easy to be an foreign in a place where people talk differently and act differently, this is another world …. But I am facing this situation ………Sometimes I get depressed a little, but then I look in the mirror and say: Hey Silvana, you’re here for something, and you have to be strong …Ha ha, I think if I read this later I will laugh!

Well my dear and loving Meli ….
Goodbye!!
Kisses to the distance, I hope you receive it!!
With love,
Silvana

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

You know What is the best about this email: Meli never got it, I had a email address incorrect she was using a different one and I knew that, When I came back home.

About silvana1989

Una persona con amor por la vida y su esencia, siempre dispuesta a aprender. Disfruto de la buena lectura, música, agricultura y conocer gente y éste blog es para mostrar las experiencias que todo esto junto le da a mi vida
This entry was posted in USA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to USA’s memories!!!!

  1. Lesli says:

    We feel the same way Silvana, so your kind words today at the MARCHA BLANCA POR LA PAZ DE JAMA/ White March for Peace in Jama were very touching. We want to be part of the community but with the language barrier it is challenging…. we too are learning day by day little by little! We will see you soon at Exclusivo!

    • silvana1989 says:

      My words just were deserved!!! That’s exactly why I thought were necessary To thank all of you because even don´t being spanish speaker, you were present, you are welcome to Exclusivo restaurant anytime 🙂

  2. Gallivanta says:

    That is so funny that she didn’t get the email. It’s really great to read of your first experiences in the USA. It’s a bit like Lisa telling us of her experiences as a foreigner in Ecuador. Many people have no idea how difficult it can be to be a stranger in another country. And also how much fun it can be too. When I first went to New Zealand from my tropical home in Fiji I couldn’t believe how cold it was. I was cold all the time; even in summer.

    • silvana1989 says:

      There is always funny situations when you face different culture but after you laugh, cold wow I´m never going to forget it!!, so you are from Fiji? I´ve never met somebody from Fiji!! Thanks for share your experience and read this post 🙂

      • Gallivanta says:

        Fiji was my birth country and I lived there for a long time. But now of course my home is New Zealand which is the birth country of my parents.

  3. this is so beautiful to read and to see ‘our’ world through a foreigner’s eyes. it’s a refreshing post, and i hope that many more people will soon enjoy it!

    i worked on photos from about four this afternoon until one this morning! they should work well in a video about the march. for now i’m going to sleep! zzzzzzzzz

    • silvana1989 says:

      Hey Lisa I just came back from Manta thank for your comment, I guess is different to see our world through a foreigner´s eyes that is Why I´m enjoying so much your post, Jama looks different through your eyes 🙂

  4. Mary says:

    Great post Silvana – so funny to hear your thoughts on the cold in the US – NorthEast area of New Hampshire. I used to live in that part of the country and yes, rarely did I go without a coat! Nice post and truly enjoyed reading it!!

    • silvana1989 says:

      Well I grew up in the coast of course I’m kinda freaky about cold but even if I´m freezing I really liked, NorthEast is a great place so you said you used to live, Where do you live now? I´m glad you enjoyed it!!

      • Mary says:

        Texas, which is completely opposite of New England weather – love the heat so much more, but miss the gorgeous scenery.

  5. silvana1989 says:

    Oh no I do prefer cold I know New England is extreme weather but I like to see How everything change…..Here in ecuador there is just two season, Dry and rainy but it´s always hot. I don´t know Texas but I was in Phoenix, Az for two days I guess Texas´s weather is kinda similar……

Leave a Reply

